West Virginia Homeschool
West Virginia Homeschool Attendance Ages: Children that turn 6 years old on or before September 1 of the current school year are eligible to enroll into a homeschool program within the state of West Virginia. Students are eligible for homeschool before they turn 17 years old or graduate high school.
West Virginia Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: West Virginia requires that all homeschool students receive at least 180 days of instruction, which is the same as West Virginia public schools.
West Virginia Homeschool Required Subjects: Each school board is West Virginia can establish required subjects that homeschool students must learn.
West Virginia Homeschool eligibility
West Virginia Parents have two homeschool options to choose from:
Option I: Home School Approval Option:
allows a school board to approve homeschooling.
a. Instruction must be in a place approved by the board;
b. Instruction must be for a time equal to the school term of the county;
c. If requested, family must furnish attendance, instruction and progress information;
d. School board may deny approval for “good and reasonable justification” (denial must be in writing).
Option II: Homeschool Notice Option
a person or persons may homeschool after filing a notice (no particular form is required). If the child is enrolled in a public school, it must be filed two weeks before the start of the home school program. The notice must state that the person(s) intend to provide home instruction. It must include the child’s name, address, age, and grade level, and evidence of the person(s) high school diploma or equivalent. The person(s) must also outline a plan of instruction for the year.
Alternative Statutes Allowing for Home Schools:
A group of parents may form a private, parochial, church, religious or other nonpublic school.
Option IV. Private or Denominational School:
Groups of homeschoolers can create private schools with each home a part of the campus and each parent a teacher. Private schools are not regulated. An individual home school cannot be a private
West Virginia Homeschool Teacher Qualifications:
Option 1: Instruction must be by a person who, in the judgment of the county superintendent and county board, is qualified to give instruction in subjects required to be taught in public elementary schools.
Option 2: Person(s) providing home instruction must have high school diploma or equivalent under “notice” option.