Washington Homeschool Attendance Ages: Children that turn 8 years old are eligible to enroll into a homeschool program within the state of Washington. Students are eligible for homeschool before they turn 18 years old or graduate high school.
Washington Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: Washington requires that all homeschool students receive at least 180 days of instruction, which is the same as Washington public schools.
Washington Homeschool Required Subjects: Homeschool students in Washington are required to learn the following subjects:
Occupational education, science, math, language, social studies, history, health, reading, writing, spelling, and the development of an appreciation of art and music.
Washington Homeschool eligibility
Home schoolers have two options. They can qualify under the home school statute or operate as an
extension of a private school.
Option I: Home School Statute.
1. Home-based instruction consists of planned and supervised instructional and related educational
activities, including a curriculum and instruction in the basic skills.
2. Parents must provide a number of hours of instruction “equivalent” to the program hours established
for approved private schools.
3. Instruction may only be provided by a parent who is either:
a. instructing his child only and is supervised by a certificated person (i.e., the certificated person
and the parent plan educational objectives; the certificated person has a minimum each month of
an average of one contact hour per week with the child; and the certificated person evaluates the
b. instructing his child only and has either forty-five college quarter credits or the equivalent in
semester credits (approximately 30 semester credits. 1 quarter credit=2/3 semester credit); or
c. instructing his child only and has completed a course in home-based education at a postsecondary
institution or a vocational-technical institute (these courses generally do not require an
extensive time commitment)
d. instructing his child only and is “deemed sufficiently qualified to provide home-based instruction
by the superintendent of the local school district.”
Parents must file an annual signed declaration of intent to home school by Sept. 15 of each year or within two weeks of the beginning of any public school quarter, trimester, or semester with the local superintendent or with the superintendent of a nonresident district which accepts the home school student as a transfer student. The statement must include the name and age of the child, specify whether a certificated person will be supervising the instruction, and written in a format prescribed by the superintendent of public instruction.
Option II: Alternative Statute Allowing for Home Instruction.
An approved private school may operate an extension program for parents, guardians, or persons having
legal custody of a child to teach children in their custody. These students are considered to be private
Washington Homeschool Standardized Tests:
Under Option I, either:
a. Parents must ensure that a standardized test approved by the state board is administered annually to the child by a “qualified” person
b. Have the child evaluated by a certificated person.
c. Neither the results of the standardized achievement test nor the evaluation results need to be
submitted to the public schools. The results must be retained by the parents as part of the child’s
Under Option II: Each student’s progress must be evaluated by the certificated person.