Virginia Homeschool Attendance Ages: Children that turn 5 years old on or before September 30 of the current school year are eligible to enroll into a homeschool program within the state of Virginia. Students are eligible for homeschool before they turn 18 years old or graduate high school.
Virginia Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: Virginia requires that all homeschool students receive at least 180 days of instruction, which is the same as Virginia public schools.
Virginia Homeschool Required Subjects: Homeschool students in Virginia are not requires to be taught a specific subject.
Virginia Homeschool eligibility
Virginia Parents have four homeschool options to choose from:
Option I: Home School Statute.
1. Parental instruction of children is an acceptable form of education.
2. Parents must annually notify their local superintendent of their intention to home school by August 15.
If moving into the school district or if starting home instruction after the school year has begun,
parents must notify as soon as practicable and thereafter comply with other requirements within
thirty days of notice. There is no requirement to use the local school district’s form.
3. Approval is not required. Approval is automatic so long as a proper notice is filed.
4. Parents must satisfy one of four options:
(i) have a high school diploma
(ii) be a “teacher of qualifications prescribed by the Board of Education
(iii) provide a curriculum or program of study,
(iv) provide evidence that the “parent is able to provide an adequate education.”
The [local] superintendent does not have to approve or disapprove the activities or the content and should not pass judgment on whether the curriculum is a satisfactory substitute for that of the public schools. That should be left to the parent.
5. Parents must submit a description of curriculum which is a list of subjects they intend to teach. Families are not required to describe the content of individual courses.
6. Anyone aggrieved by a superintendent’s decision may appeal within 30 days to an independent
Option II: Religious Exemption Statute.
A school board shall excuse from attendance at school any pupil who, together with his parents, by reason of bona fide religious training or belief is conscientiously
opposed to attendance at school.
Option III. Certified Tutor Statute:
If a parent is certified in Virginia, he need only provide a one-time notice to the local superintendent that he will be tutoring children (the name of the children who will be tutored should not be included) and verify that he is certified.
Option IV. Private or Denominational School:
Groups of homeschoolers can create private schools with each home a part of the campus and each parent a teacher. Private schools are not regulated. An individual home school cannot be a private
A private school can establish a distance program (or virtual program, or satellite
program) where a student is enrolled in and under the authority of the private school, but the student is
taught primarily by his parents at home.
Virginia Homeschool Teacher Qualifications: None.
Standardized Tests: Only for parents choosing Option I, and only if the child was 6 or older by Sept. 30.
By August 1, submit one of the following.
1. Results of any nationally normed standardized achievement test.
2. An evaluation letter from a person licensed to teach in any state, or a person with a master’s degree or higher in an academic discipline, having knowledge of the child’s academic progress, stating that the child is achieving an adequate level of educational growth and progress;
3. A report card or transcript from a community college or college, college distance learning program, or home-education correspondence school
4. Another type of evaluation or assessment which the division superintendent determines to indicate that the child is achieving an adequate level of educational growth and progress.
If you plan to submit an assessment under test option 4, it is strongly recommended that you discuss this with the school system early in the school year.
Neither the test administrator nor evaluator is required to be approved in advance. Any standardized test can be administered anywhere, anytime, by anybody.
If progress is not shown, the superintendent may place the program on probation for one year. Parents
must file evidence of their ability to provide an adequate education and a remediation plan addressing
any educational deficiency.
Home instruction must cease if the superintendent does not accept the remediation plan or if progress as required is not shown by August 1.