Oregon Homeschool Attendance Ages: Children between the age of 7 and 18 are eligible to enroll into a homeschool program within the state of Oregon.
Oregon Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: Oregon does not have a required number of instruction days.
Oregon Homeschool Required Subjects: Oregon does not have required subjects that homeschool students must learn.
Oregon Homeschooling Eligibility
Children are exempt from public school if they are being educated in the childrenís home by a parent or legal guardian. A parent may home school under this law provided the requirements below are followed:
1. The parent or guardian must notify the education service district (ESD) in writing within 10 days
when a child is taught at home or is withdrawn from a public school to be taught at home. When a
child moves to a new ESD, the parent or guardian must notify the new ESD in writing within 10 days
of such occurrence. Annual notification is not required.
The notice must include the childís and parentís names and addresses, the childís birth date, and the
name of the school the child is presently attending or last attended or, if the child has not attended
school, the name of the public school district where the child resides.
2. The ESD is required to acknowledge receipt of the notice of intent in writing within 90 days of
receipt of the notification.
3. The parent of a child who turns seven after September 1 shall not be required to provide notice of intent to home school until the beginning of the next school year.
4. A home school cannot be a private school.
Oregon Homeschool Teacher Requirements
Orgeon does not have any homeschool teaching requirements.
Oregon Homeschool Standardized Testing
1. Parents must choose one of the comprehensive examinations approved by the State Board of
Education which must be administered in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10 by a qualified neutral person. Testing shall occur no later than August
2. If the child was withdrawn from public school, the first examination must be administered at least
18 months after the date the child was withdrawn from public school. If the child never attended
public or private school, the first examination must be administered to the child prior to the end of
3. The person administering the examination shall score it and report the results to the parent or legal
guardian. Test results are reported to the ESD only if the superintendent of the ESD requests them.
4. If the composite score on the examination is below the 15th percentile, the child must be given an
additional examination within one year. If the score on the second examination is a lower percentile
than the previous examination, the child must be given an additional examination within one year of
when the second examination was given, and the superintendent of the ESD may place the education
of the child under a certified teacher selected by and at the expense of the parent or guardian.
5. If the composite score on the third examination continues to decline, the superintendent of the ESD
may: (1) allow the home schooling to continue under the supervision of a certified teacher selected by
the parent or guardian and require an additional examination within one year; (2) allow the child to be
taught by the parent, guardian, or private teacher and require an additional examination within one
year; or (3) order the parent or guardian to send the child to school for a period not to exceed
12 consecutive months.
6. If the composite score on an examination is equal to or greater than the percentile score on the prior test, the child may be taught by a parent, guardian, or private teacher without any previous restrictions imposed because of a declining score.
A child with disabilities is to be evaluated for satisfactory educational progress according to the method recommended in the individualized education plan (IEP) or privately developed plan. No testing of these students is required unless recommended in their respective plans.