New Jersey Homeschool
New Jersey Homeschool Attendance Ages: A child between the ages of 6 to 16 years of age are eligible for home school. Children that have received their high school diploma or equivalent or are older than 18 years of age are not eligible for homeschool in New Jersey.
New Jersey Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: New Jersey does not require any number of days that students must attend homeschool.
New Jersey Homeschool Required Subjects: New Jersey does not outline any specific subjects that must be taught in homeschool, but homeschool law states that the homeschool child must receive instruction “academically equivalent” to public school.
Parents must meet the following requirements in order for their child to be in a homeschool program.
1. The child must attend a public school or a day school in which there is given instruction equivalent to that provided in the public schools for children of similar grades. Home schooling is generally allowed under the “elsewhere than at school” portion of the statute.
2. If any legal issue is initiated, parents must carry the burden of providing the local superintendent with evidence that the child is in fact receiving equivalent instruction.
Then the burden shifts to the state to show that there is a lack of equivalency in the particular home
Parents are only required to show academic equivalency and are not required to show social development derived from group education.
3. It is clear from the New Jersey courts that parents have a constitutional right to choose the type and
character of education they feel is best suited for their children, be it secular or sectarian.
The below subjects are required for students to complete by the New Jersey State Department of Education. Students must complete and pass these subjects in order to receive a public-issed high school diploma. Parents interested in homeschooling their child should consider these subject matters, so their child can receive the same education as students in public education.
Language arts (4 years)
Math (3 years)
Science (3 years)
World history (1 year)
Civics, or U.S. and N.J. history (2 years)
Health-safety-physical education (2.5 hrs per week, all 4 years)
Financial-economic business-entrepreneurial (1 semester)
Visual-performing arts (1 year)
Foreign language (1 year, or show proficiency)
Career-technical-vocational (1 year)
“Technological literacy,” civics, economics, geography and “global content” (not as separate subjects, but “integrated” throughout).
New Jersey Homeschool Teacher Qualifications: New Jersey does not require teachers to have specific qualfications to teach homeschool.
New Jersey Homeschool Standardized Test: NewJersey does not require homeschool students to take standardized tests.
New Jersey Homeschool Student Athletes
Homeschool student-athletes in New Jersey can now participate in public high school sports, under rule changes approved by the New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association in 2011. Homeschool students interested in playing public school sports will need to prove to their local board of education that they meet the same eligibility standards as a typical public school student-athlete, which include age, residency, and academics.
New Jersey Homeschool High School Diploma
Homeschool students are not eligible to receive a high school diploma from the state of New Jersey, evn if the parent teaches the state educational standards. In order to receive a state-endorsed diploma, the child must attend an accredited public high school in New Jersey. Homeschool students can take the GED exam. If the student passes the GED then they are eligible to receive a GED certificate, which is a high school diploma equivalent.