Kentucky Homeschool Attendance Ages: Students age 6 (by October 1 in the current school year) and under the age of 16 years are required to attend school in Kentucky. Mandatory attendance ends between 16 and 18 years old with parental consent.
Kentucky Homeschool Required Days of Instruction: 185 days, which include the equivalent of 175 six (6) hour instructional days and 10 non-instructional (teacher) days.
Kentucky Required Subjects: Include reading, writing, spelling, grammar, history, mathematics, and civics.
Alternative Statutes Allowing for Home Schools:
A home school qualifies as a private, parochial, or church school if it does the following:
Notify the local board of education of those students in attendance at the school. Home schoolers need only send in a letter with this information during the first two weeks of school. When you write your local school board, you should state that your children will be attending a particular school, giving the name and address of the school. The letter must include the names, ages, and place of residence of each pupil in attendance at the school.
It is not recommended that you include test scores, letters of recommendations, or any other material since it implies that you are requesting permission from the school board to teach your children at home. You are not requesting permission, simply informing them
of the situation.
All private, "homeschool" schools must keep an attendance register and scholarship reports in the same manner as is required by law or by regulation of the Kentucky Board of Education of public school officials.
School officials, however, have no authority to enter home schools, since they are protected by the Fourth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. The privacy of the home must be recognized and no visit inside the home may be conducted without the consent of an adult resident or a duly issued warrant.
Teacher Qualifications: None.
Standardized Tests: Not required by statute for private or religious schools (homeschools).
It is suggested that the person responsible for instruction keep a portfolio that contains samples of the best work done by each child in several areas of study and maintain the portfolio year after year. This may be of assistance in documenting the existence of the home school or the transfer of the child to another educational setting. A record of courses taken and grades received is also necessary.
State law only requires the public school district to allow opportunity for a student to participate in extracurricular activities if the student is enrolled in the public school district. Some districts are willing to allow home schools to participate but this decision is up to the individual school districts. If youíre interested in an activity, contact your school district to determine your eligibility.
Home schools are not accredited by the State of Kentucky. Unless a home schooling family functions as a satellite classroom for an accredited school, the diploma awarded by a home school may not be recognized by other schools or agencies. Some home schooled children take the General Equivalency Diploma (GED) exam for the purpose of obtaining a standard credential. Other college-bound home school graduates take the SAT or ACT tests and usually have little problem with college admission. The homeschool is responsible for providing a high school diploma for the graduating student.
No Pass / No Drive Law
The No Pass/No Drive law was passed during the 2007 legislative session, and affects every public and private school in Kentucky (including home school students). The law says that schools will use academic and attendance data from the previous semester of the current school year to determine whether 16 and 17-year-old students are compliant with the law. If deemed noncompliant, the studentís driverís license is revoked (this process occurs on a web portal that directly connects schools and the Kentucky Department of Transportation). In the case of a first time application for a learning permit, the paper form required to apply for the permit will not be completed and issued by the school. If the student is compliant for an entire semester, then the permit or license can be reinstated. Parents with children in homeschool will need to complete the No Pass/No Drive form in order for the child to have driving rights in kentucky.